Bridesmaid Again!

I was recently bridesmaid for the 7th time. The old saying ‘always the bridesmaid, never the bride’ springs to mind, although I have caught one or two bouquets! I have a big family and my parents both remarried, which I suppose is why I have been honoured to be such a special part of so many couples’ big day. This most recent wedding was different though for two reasons. First of all, I was an adult. I’m in my 20s now, and thinking about what my own wedding will eventually be like, so I could experience it in a new way. Secondly, and most importantly, the bride was my best friend, and I was incredibly lucky because she chose me as her chief bridesmaid. Or maid of honour if you’re in America. We’ve been friends since we were 3 years old, and sharing this experience together with all the planning, events, excitement and drama that goes with it has definitely made us even closer. There are a lot of responsibilities that come with the role. I didn’t realise before I said yes that I would spend so much time worrying about how I would sign the register and when I was supposed to take her bouquet, or that I would become an expert at lacing and unlacing corsets and pinning brooches by the end of the big day. And don’t get me started on how stressful the hen party (bachelorette party) was! But I would do all that and more to make her big day just a little easier to manage, and seeing how happy they were together made all the stress worth it. I’m now more nervous to plan my own wedding, but I also know that I can rely on my chief bridesmaid to make it that little bit easier, and that makes it even more exciting too!

Leave a Reply

